Glossary - Terms I

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - I - K - L - M - O - P - R - S - T - V - W - Z
Islands of the Levant (Ionian islands)
a collection of islands in the Ionian archipelago (Zante, Cephalonia, Ithaca, Santa Maura, Corfù, Cerigo, and Paxos) which constituted an administrative complex which was precisely defined only after the peace of Passarowitz (1717). The Ionian islands were ruled by a Provveditore Generale, who supervised assorted local provveditori

Viaggio virtuale tra le fonti storiche veneziane
Rotta: Venezia e il Levante (sec XV - sec XVIII)
© 1996 by the VENIVA consortium